Habitats & Protected Areas

The thematic report no. 1 on The Wadden Sea – Protection and Management as part of the Quality Status Report 2009 (QSR 2009) provides an overview on Trilateral Cooperation on the Protection of the Wadden Sea (TCWS). The focus is on shared principles and targets and international protection and management regimes as well as on habitat types.

From the QSR 2009, thematic report 1, The Wadden Sea – Protection and Management:

An essential principle is that unreasonable impairments of the interests of the local population and of traditional human uses of the Wadden Sea Area have to be avoided. Any user interests have to be weighed on a fair and equitable basis in the light of the purpose of protection in general, and the particular case concerned. As emphasized above, the trilateral conservation policy and management is directed towards achieving the full scale of habitat types which belong to a natural and dynamic Wadden Sea. Each of these habitats needs a certain level of quality, which can be reached by proper management of the area. This quality level can be described by certain characteristic structures, the presence of certain organisms, the absence of disturbance and toxic effects and by the chemical condition of the habitat. For the common management six habitat types are distinguished:

  • The offshore zone;
  • The beaches and dunes;
  • The tidal area;
  • The salt marshes;
  • The estuaries;
  • The rural area.

For the first five of these habitats, ecological targets were adopted with the objective of maintaining and enhancing the area which is natural, dynamic and undisturbed, including targets for birds and marine mammals. . [….read more]

Quality Status Report 2009: Thematic Report No. 1: The Wadden Sea -
                                                        Protection and Management (Marencic)
Quality Status Report 2004: Protection and Management (Marencic & Essink)